:: As Adviser and Dissertation Committee Chair:

Andreea Nicolae
College Fellow. Department of Linguistics, Harvard University
Ph.D. thesis: Any questions? Polarity as a window into the semantics of questions, Harvard University, 2013.

Li Julie Jiang
Assistant Professor of Chinese Linguistics, Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
Ph.D. thesis: Nominal arguments and language variation, Harvard University, 2013. Co-chair with C.-T. James Huang

Jacopo Romoli
Lecturer in Linguistics, School of Communication, University of Ulster
Ph.D. thesis: Soft but strong. Neg-raising, soft presuppositions and exhaustification, Harvard University, 2012.

Hazel Pearson
Research Associate at the Centre for General Linguistics (ZAS), Berlin
Ph.D. thesis: The sense of self: Topics on the semantics of De Se expressions, Harvard University, 2012.

Hsiu-chen Daphne Liao
Assistant Professor, Department of Foreign Languages and Literature, National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
Ph.D. thesis: Alternatives and exhaustification: Non-interrogative uses of Chinese wh-words, Harvard University, 2011.

Clemens Mayr
Research Associate at the Centre for General Linguistics (ZAS), Berlin
Ph.D. thesis: The role of alternatives and strength in grammar, Harvard University, 2010.

Adam Z. Wyner
Lecturer in Computing Science, Department of Computing Science, University of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Ph.D. thesis: Boolean event lattices and thematic roles in the syntax and semantics of adverbial modification, Cornell University, 1994

William McClure
Associate Professor of Japanese at Queens College and Linguistics at CUNY Graduate Center
Ph.D. thesis: Syntactic projection of the semantics of aspect, Cornell University, 1992.

Veneeta Dayal (formerly: Srivastav)
Professor, Department of Linguistics, Rutgers University
Ph.D. thesis: Wh dependencies in Hindi and the theory of grammar, Cornell University, 1991.

:: As Dissertation Committee Member:

  • Beom-mo Kang (Brown  University)
  • Chu-ren Huang (Cornell University)
  • Shyam Kapur (Computer Science, Cornell University)
  • Keiko Yoshida (Cornell University)
  • Federica Busa (Brandeis University)
  • Luca Dini (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa)
  • Francesca Panzeri (University of Milan)
  • Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)
  • Marjana Marelji (University of Utrecht)
  • Valentine Hacquard (MIT)
  • Sophia Malamud (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Marta Abrusan (MIT)
  • Jun-ri Shimada (MIT)
  • Anamaria Falaus (University of Nantes)
  • Luka Crnic (MIT)
  • Natalia Ivlieva (MIT)
  • Suzi Lima (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)