In January 2015, the UWE officially launched the Challenge. Economics departments at colleges and universities around the country received our letter of invitation to participate in the initiative. We received an overwhelming show of support from more than 160 institutions (50% of the possible group). After narrowing our sample to schools with more economics majors to increase power, the following 20 schools were randomly selected to receive the treatment in the RCT:

Brown University (Providence, RI)
Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO)
Connecticut College (New London, CT)
Illinois State University (Normal, IL)
Princeton University (Princeton, NJ)
Southern Methodist University (Dallas, TX)
St. Olaf College (Northfield, MN)
University of California, Berkeley (Berkeley, CA)
University of California, Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara, CA)
University of Central Florida (Orlando, FL)
University of Colorado Boulder (Boulder, CO)
University of Connecticut (Mansfield, CT)
University of Hawaii at Manoa (Honolulu, HI)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Champaign, IL)
University of Richmond (Richmond, VA)
University of Virginia (Charlottesville, VA)
University of Wisconsin, Madison (Madison, WI)
Washington and Lee University (Lexington, VA)
Williams College (Williamstown, MA)
Yale University (New Haven, CT)

More than 30 schools have also agreed to provide control institution data for the study. The full list of participants can be found here.

Each treatment school will receive $12,500 to help them implement a series of interventions to attract more women into economics. See our Interventions page for more information.